Benin Environment and Education Society (BEES NGO)

Region

Afrique

Country

Bénin

Flyway

Voie de migration de l'Atlantique Est

Initiative

WLI Africa

Données de base

Nom de l’organisme :

Société béninoise pour l'environnement et l'éducation (ONG BEES)

Soutien financier :

Droits d'entrée ; Gouvernement des Pays-Bas et adhésion.

Numéro de personnel :

23

Les buts clés du centre :

Une organisation pour la protection et la gestion durable des zones humides au Bénin à travers des initiatives locales et la participation en éduquant le public sur la conservation de la faune.

Description du centre :

Le centre est situé à 70 km au nord de Cotonou, la principale ville du sud du Bénin. Il s'agit d'une zone de 4.500, une île écologique au cœur de la forêt lama à des fins de conservation. La zone abrite plus de 106 espèces d'oiseaux, dont beaucoup sont des espèces du biome de la Guinée-Congo.

Il y a 29 espèces de mammifères telles que : rongeurs (12 espèces), artiodactyles (7 espèces), primates (4 espèces) et 7 autres espèces diverses.

Champs de travail

Activités clés de la CESP

L'une des activités importantes de BEES est de rendre les gens plus respectueux de l'environnement et de sensibiliser les jeunes, en particulier les écoliers, les étudiants, les enseignants et les jeunes en formation dans les instituts professionnels.

Pour y parvenir, nous organisons des activités telles que des conférences, des présentations, des séminaires, des ateliers, des réunions et des programmes de sensibilisation, comme des visites de points chauds de la pollution et d'importantes installations de contrôle de la pollution, ainsi que la distribution de matériel éducatif et publicitaire - brochures, autocollants, affiches, bannières, diapositives, CD, etc.

Les trois succès les plus importants

1) Gestion de clubs d'environnement. Le projet vise à améliorer les conditions sanitaires des villages par la mobilisation sociale et le changement de comportement, en utilisant les écoles comme des centres importants pour créer de nouvelles normes d'hygiène dans la communauté. Nous organisons deux camps d'enfants par an pour les enfants des zones rurales pour la conservation du guenon à ventre rouge.
2) Ecotourisme. BEES a développé un projet d'écotourisme réussi comme alternative à l'épuisement des ressources. Le projet d'écotourisme est conçu pour fournir une source régulière de revenus pour les forêts et les communautés locales. Le projet d'écotourisme permet également d'éduquer les visiteurs étrangers, les Béninois des grandes villes et les membres des communautés environnantes.

Les trois défis les plus importants

Nous pouvons partager nos expériences grâce à un réseau solide.

Aires d'experience

Techniques d’interprétation

Création de signes/information sur site ; Production de documents écrits ; Utilisation d’outils audiovisuels ; Développement de sentiers naturels

Participation

Travaux avec des personnes handicapées ; Initiatives envers la communauté locale ; Initiatives envers les jeunes ; Initiatives envers les groupes exclus ; Travaux avec des bénévoles

Education et communication

Education des petits enfants ; Education des adultes ; Travailler avec des écoles primaires ; Lobbying / faire campagne ; Travailler avec des écoles secondaires  ; Développer des ressources / documents

Général

Audit / évaluation d’efficacité ; Relations publiques et marketing ; Mise en œuvre d’une administration efficace ; Santé et sécurité ; Appel de fonds ; Organisation de projets

Contact

Maximin K. DJONDO
Coordinateur

Société béninoise pour l'environnement et l'éducation (ONG BEES)

03 BP 779 Jericho, Cotonou, Bénin ;

Tél : +229 21 003 153 ; +229 97 67 835

Courriel : bees@hotmail.fr

Adresse du site Internet : www.bees-ong.org

Inscrivez-vous gratuitement à WLI et créez votre propre profil de membre illustrant le travail que vous effectuez.

Benin Environment and Education Society (BEES NGO)

Region

Africa

Country

Benin

Flyway

East Atlantic flyway

Initiative

WLI Africa

About

The centre is situated 70 km north of Cotonou the main city in the south of Benin. It is an area of 4,500, an ecological island at the core of the lama forest for conservation purposes. The area is home to more than 106 birds species, many of which are species of the Guinea-Congo biome.

Funding support: Entry fees; The Netherlands Government and membership.

Number of staff: 23

Overall aims of the centre

An Organization for the Protection and Sustainable Management of wetlands in Benin through Local Initiatives and Participation by educating the public on conservation of wildlife.

Description of the centre

The centre is situated 70 km north of Cotonou the main city in the south of Benin. It is an area of 4,500, an ecological island at the core of the lama forest for conservation purposes. The area is home to more than 106 birds species, many of which are species of the Guinea-Congo biome.

There are 29 mammalian species such as: rodents (12 species), artiodactyls (7 species), primates (4 species) and 7 other various species.

 

Work Areas

Main CEPA work areas

One of the important activities that BEES carries out is to make people more eco-friendly and generate awareness among the youth, especially school children, college students, teachers and youth undergoing training at vocational institutes.

To achieve this, we do activities such as lectures, presentations, seminars, workshops, meetings, and outreach programs such as visits to pollution hotspots and important pollution control installations and distribution of educational aid and publicity materials – handbills, stickers, posters, banners, slides, CDs etc.

Top successes

1) Running environment clubs. The project seeks to improve the sanitary conditions of the villages through social mobilization and behavioural change, using schools as important centers for creating new norms of hygiene in the community. We run two children camps annually for children from rural areas for conservation of Red – bellied guenon
2) Ecotourism. BEES has developed a successful ecotourism project as an alternative to resource depletion. The ecotourism project is designed to provide a steady source of income for forests and for local communities. The ecotourism project also helps educate foreign visitors, Beninese from big cities and members of surrounding communities.

Top challenges

We can share experiences through a strong network.

Expertise

Interpretation techniques

Creating signage / site information; using audio visual tools; producing written materials; developing nature trails.

Participation

Working with disabled people; engaging young people; engaging hard to reach groups; engaging the local community; working with volunteers.

Education and communication

Early years education; working with primary schools; working with secondary schools; delivering adult education; lobbying / running campaigns; developing resources / materials.

General

Auditing / assessing effectiveness; running effective administration; fund-raising; PR and marketing; health and safety; project planning.

Contact

Maximin K. DJONDO
Coordinator

Benin Environment and Education Society (BEES NGO)

03 BP 779 Jericho, Cotonou, Benin;

Tel: +229 21 003 153; +229 97 67 835

Email: bees@hotmail.fr

Skype: djondomax

Website address: www.bees-ong.org